http://www.brightrentals.com/listings.aspx?state=VA&city=Charlottesville
Today I started getting inquiries from property listings on BrightRentals....I've never heard of them so when I checked their website - the listings they have are ALL OLD, STALE listings that were rented a year or so ago....NONE ARE AVAILABLE NOW.
I checked with my website host, HomeRentals.net, and they indicate they are not exporting/partnering with BrightRentals and when they do send listing feeds to their partners - HotPads, etc., they send active listings.
How did BrightRentals get these listings and how do I stop them?
I've e-mailed their sales contact e-mail and their main e-mail to remove my listings!! I do not have an account with them so I can't login and remove them manually. I have not decided whether to respond to listing contact with "this listing is no longer available" so please contact BrightRentals to remove it OR just not respond at all. My e-mail signature contains a link directly to my website so they can see that the properties are not there.
As I indicate, this has me by my 9.5B Nikes!! Any suggestions?!?
Wallace S. Gibson, CPM * GIBSON MANAGEMENT GROUP, Ltd.
View our available rental homes online with photos and floor plans
"...to be a Virginian, either by Birth, Marriage, Adoption, or even on one's Mother's side, is an Introduction to any State in the Union, a Passport to any Foreign Country, and a Benediction from the Almighty God...." Anonymous

Hmmmm - I'd say they are not that bright! Sounds like a "starter" online rental company seeking some business... they will probably soon fade away... but until then, keep us posted,
Diane - there are other listings in VA; however, there is no way to contact those PMs or property owners....their contact info on me is correct as that is how I learned of the problem
In a way it's like a "compliment".... on the other hand, they seem to want to "use" what you have already established and bring exposure to themselves. It will not work in their favor since any interested party will have to end up contacting you. Of course you can then introduce them to what is currently available..... so in a way, they are indirectly working for YOU!
I once had to halt an unlicensed "finding service" from including my listings on their PAID list of available homes. Their very enterprising employee had scraped every house from my website without my permission. It's a form of Web Piracy that we are beginning to see more of. Keep us updated with new findings.
Diane - a "real estate agent" contacted the one contact that I am aware of when he completed the inquiry form on their website.
It was not me but their contact me inquiry goes to me without the prospect having my e-mail address.
Well Wallace, a representative from BriteRentals did call me after i sent an inquiry on your behalf. I asked her regarding the old listings she had, and her response was that they were listings sent in by others. Anyway, she did offer a whole free year for BOTH OF US and others who would like to join up.
Here is a portion of what she sent by email:
Your complementary account is active for 1 year. You have 10 ad spots to utilize. If a property rents, you can clear it out and reuse the space. If you have any questions, please let me know. Also, please feel free to pass on our info to any of your other property managers. For a complementary 10 spot account, just have them contact me directly at Leighannehurt@gmail.com or service@brightrentals.com and request a complementary account. Thank you, Leigh Anne Hurt Bright Rentals
I received this e-mail from Bright Rentals today. Unfortunately for them, the damage to their reputation has been done and the fact that they were taking listings THAT WERE NOT AVAILABLE much less without my permission is unfortunate for them.
Dear Mr. Gibson, Bright Rentals apologizes. And, all of your properties have been removed. We were offering complementary accounts in your area and you should have been notified by email of the offer and that the listings were on the site. Unfortunately, we had computer email problems for a week and that is why it has taken so long for action.
Sincerely, Leigh Anne Bright Rentals
Awwww come on, they did ask for forgiveness, right? We did get to the bottom of this. Let's make their day and post our listings, OK? YOU go first!
Diane - I don't think so....the fact that the listings they had are NOT current has too much liability for me....prospects will feel the bait and switch.
If they had a GOOD, ACTIVE feed from a source supplied by HomeRentals; maybe....not when they have to populate their site with STALE, UNAVAILABLE listings.
Yes, can see your point...
Diane - I think they are scammers.....
http://rentbits.com/blog/rental-scams/how-to-unmask-rental-scammers